Back to school! Back to the Future [of Georgia]!

Now that school is in full-swing I feel like it is necessary to update you all with life in Georgia. May I begin by saying how much I truly enjoy being a teacher. I thoroughly enjoy leading our lessons and learning how to work with a co-teacher for the benefit of us both. I have observed/worked along side the three of Chala’s English teachers this past week. I have learned a lot from this experience on the Georgian realities and how to better utilize myself in the classroom. One of my classes (5th grade) is 28 students and is literally packed wall to wall and wall to black board. The class is wonderful but without a doubt their English knowledge ranges from barely knowing their AaBbCc’s to above and beyond their 5th grade book. Without a doubt I have a greater appreciation for Georgian teachers as they have their work cut out for them. However I see now where I can assist in building stronger students and helping to improve those students who have been left behind. All students, teachers, and staff have been very welcoming to me and my unorthodox methods so I hope I can prove that they are effective.

My 12th grade students are really wonderful. I enjoy teaching them. I have nothing to hide so I will speak freely as it is the truth. I know half of them will not pursue university studies- I can completely understand it. Whether it be having no interest in it, no interest in studying, family obligations, and/or the money concern. I get it. However to prove to students why they should study English proves itself to be a constant uphill battle. The reasons I have given them to far have been the following:

1. The internet. About 60-70 percent of the internet is in English. If students want to be more productive (term I use loosely as we all define productive differently) citizens, how can they expand their mindset with only Georgian and Russian.

2. Higher paying jobs. If people want a more high paying job here in Georgia, in particular in the cities, they must know English. By not knowing English, you limit yourself financially.

3. Tourism. Tourism in Georgia is a growing industry. By being capable in the English language you can assist tourist as well as work in the tourism industry. Also there are many expats here in Georgia who are all inter-connected.

4. International business expansion. Being able to write and read in English can help you to expand your business to a more international crowd.

Anyways, I am really enjoying teaching. I have been very motivated with the students energy. I went and met with my school’s director to promote the first annual National English Spelling Competition. The whole meeting was conducted in Georgian, so I was proud of myself for that. I went home and registered Chala. Next week I will be promoting it among the students. I will also post posters around the village in hopes that parents will push their students to compete. Also I will be promoting FLEX (Future Leaders Exchange) testing and posting more information about it around the village. Thankfully I was able to finish my introduction letter about myself in Georgian and had it corrected by my tutor. I made a few copies and will be posting it around the village in order to be able to gain more respect and familiarity with people. Haha. When my tutor was correcting it- she read it aloud to herself in the teacher’s lounge. About six teachers came over and kept asking if I had written it as they did not realize I could write in Georgian. They kept telling me in Russian and Georgian “good job” and what a good girl I am.

Also I was talking with my sister in the states about dental hygiene here. She was mad with the fact that Georgians crack hazelnuts open with their teeth. She emailed me the next day and told me she had just ordered 144 toothbrushes (which also came with dental floss). She was going to send them to me here in Georgia. We also discussed her Skyping to discuss the importance of dental hygiene and how to properly floss/brush. Then come to find out her doctor paid for them! How cool. So I know next time I will just ask for monetary donations – so that I can purchase things from local businessmen. However I am so happy to know that people in the states care enough to keep asking what I need here and what they can give. It’s really great. I think the best is to think of the possibility of introducing my students to different English speakers so they can get used to different voices.

What else.. not much else to report. I am loving my host family. A few days ago my brother (Beka, 11), my sister (Mari, 7), and I had a dance party in my room! Haha. It was wonderful! They were busting out moves left and right. It was great because they were singing the English words and I tried to sing and act out the words. It was so funny!

Alright now back to the books 😉

One thought on “Back to school! Back to the Future [of Georgia]!

  1. Nicole it is so wonderful to hear how you are learning and growing right along with your students. How blessed you are to have this experience. May you continue to blossom in your Georgian life! Love you much!

Leave a comment